Sacrificing Luxuries

Dodger the Jack Russell snuggles into his blankets to keep warm during our 21 Challenge!

As some of you may be aware, Thursday 21st of June was the “shortest day” otherwise known as the “longest night” in the Southern Hemisphere.

For most of us this means nothing much, but for the estimated 32,000 Australian young people aged between 12 and 24 who are homeless, it is one of the toughest times of the year.

Which is why Open Family Australia run events like the 21 Challenge and the A Night On The Streets gala.

The idea of the 21 Challenge is that you commit to doing something, or not doing something for 21 days in June, starting June 1st. Once you commit to your challenge, friends, family and warm-hearted people sponsor you, with the money raised going towards Open Family’s outreach program for at risk young people.

Now, I haven’t officially registered, and we started a little late, but my boyfriend and I are taking the 21 Challenge! Actually, we’re taking the 21 Challenge but kinda turning it into the 30 Challenge to accomplish one of my own goals, and work towards accomplishing another.

Because of the nature of the cause, and my own goal of giving up a luxury for 30 days, I decided we would deprive ourselves of an essential comfort during the bitter cold months of June/July. Yes folks, we are refusing to turn on the heater for 30 days!

Seemed like the right thing to do 10 days ago, but considering this is our first true winter (read: Victorian winter) in nearly four years – it was probably a little crazy! Especially as it got down to 5 degrees last night! But, a challenge isn’t a challenge unless it’s challenging! Right?

We started late, on the 14th of June because my boyfriend was sick in the first week of June and myself in the second week. However we are on track now and almost half way through. I’m hoping that this adventure will also help us to reduce our GHG emissions by 30%, which is another of my goals.

Out of interest I’d love to know what you could or couldn’t give up, or something you might do for 21 days straight! Otherwise if you have stories to share about homelessness, or how to stay warm in winter I’d love to hear them.

Also, if you get a chance, check out the work of the good people at Open Family Australia. They are making a difference, but it’s a an uphill battle. Any support you can provide helps, even a blog post promoting their mission!

Keep sharing, liking and smiling – I’m off to snuggle!

2 thoughts on “Sacrificing Luxuries

  1. How has the challenge worked out so far? I’d send over some of the heat we’re having over here in Canada if I could!

    I don’t think I could give up my Irish lessons. Apart from it being a social event, it’s something I’ve been wanting to do for easily close to 15 years and it’s keeping my brain flexible and active.

    I could give up eating at restaurants even though there are some days when I’d rather not eat than to eat at home. Austerity has been a life style for me for quite a while now, even more so over the past few weeks.

    While it’s important to challenge yourself, it’s equally important to keep your life full of what you truly love and to not deprive yourself of the simple pleasures in life.

    • Hi Sandra,

      Thank-you for your comment. I agree it is important to fill your life with the things you love and enjoy the simple pleasures.

      Often though I think the “simple pleasures” are masked by other things we think are important, but actually aren’t.

      Irish lessons sound fascinating by the way!

Share your thoughts

