Mother’s Day Classic

On Sunday 13th May this year I will be particpating in the Mother’s Day Classic at Eastern Park in Geelong.

At first I was keen to sign up for the 8km walk, but most of you who know me, know how much I LOVE to walk and I decided it wasn’t enough of a challenge.

So… I have foolishly decided to run… yes RUN!

Running is something I have detested since High School when I had no choice but to enter the Cross Country events, which had a lot to do with my Dad being a PE Teacher and very enthusiastic about women’s health! He was right to push me, of course, but I didn’t see it then.

Now it has been over ten years since I have ran any distance continually and so far I’m going okay. I’ve signed up for the 4km run and at the moment I’m running 2km’s in the morning with my boyfriend Blake on the bike or walking!

Blake has worked out a training schedule which includes a bit of cycling. The distance I run each morning is due to increase as we continue. I have 3 weeks before the event!

I’m not just doing this because I like a challenge! The idea is also to raise money for the National Breast Cancer Foundation. If you wish to support me as I contribute to one of my own personal goals to raise money for a charity, or because it’s for a worthy cause (and it is), visit my sponsor page here and pledge as much or as little as you like.

If you don’t feel like donating, but know somebody who might, why not share my cause with someone else via twitter or facebook? You can do so by selecting the sharing button of your choice below this article!

One thought on “Mother’s Day Classic

  1. Pingback: Progress Report | Becoming Thirty

Share your thoughts

